Here’s all the Canadian senators who just awarded themselves a medal meant to honour ‘unsung heroes’

by:Y&M Crafts     2019-08-07
The Canadian Senate may have been set up to honor the \'unsung heroes\', but the Senate has also generously honored the medal.
Of the 1,500 medals won by the Royal Canadian Mint for $225,000, 47 were awarded to current and former senators.
Among them were Senator Serge Joyal and David Wells who supported the establishment of the award.
It also included a senator who was recently involved in the Senate allowance scandal, including Mike Duffy and Pamela Wallin.
Pierre on the list.
On 2014, Hugues Boisvenu was found to have violated the ethics of the Senate after securing a Senate job for his girlfriend.
Both senators and former senators automatically qualify for the Centennial Medal in honor of the 150 th anniversary of the first meeting of the Canadian Senate in November 1867, four months after the establishment of Canada
However, whether or not they will \"choose to accept\" a medal, it is left to every senator.
Of the 105 current members of the Canadian Senate, 44 chose medals, as did three retired senators.
The end of this article contains a full list of senators who have won the award.
An official in the Canadian Senate noted that the medals were prepared for those who \"made Canada better\" by generosity, dedication, volunteering and hard work.
\"70 senators have been nominated throughout the summer and they have signed up to distribute medals.
As a matter of fact, the remaining 1453 medals do seem to fall into the hands of the Unknown Hero.
Alberta Senator Betty Angle, who did not win a medal for himself, awarded 14 medals to a series of voters with long-standing volunteer service records.
Angel\'s honors include Maureen Bini Purvis, founder of the stone-free left-behind Memorial Foundation, and Ted Byfield, founder of the \"now\"
Alberta, a conservative magazine.
Earlier this year, the medal was commissioned after senators refused to accept the federal government\'s decision to cancel the Canadian general\'s 150 medal program.
The medal was one of the features of Canada\'s anniversary celebrations such as 1967 centennial celebrations.
However, the Canadian Heritage Minister Melanie Jolly canceled the plan for the 150 medal in Canada --
May be a reaction to something that happens frequently.
The Diamond Jubilee Medal was defamed in 2012.
To celebrate the 60 th anniversary of Queen Elizabeth\'s coronation, she won 60,000 Diamond Jubilee medals for $3. 7 million.
Members of Congress and senators also automatically won the Jubilee Medal.
In addition, in the rush to deal with a large number of medals, they were eventually awarded controversial figures such as Ben Johnson, the Canadian sprinter who was stripped of the Olympic gold medal for using steroids.
The purpose of the Senate Centennial Medal is to pay tribute to \"incredible Canadians like David Wells, their contributions, volunteer efforts and dedication to the local community to help our country get better \", A senator from Newfoundland and Labrador said in a Senate speech.
In his speech, Wells mentioned several specific honors, including Sam and King Pearl, a couple in their 80 s who set up a Deer Lake NL food bank in the basement.
\"When I came into contact with my nominees, some people cried and all were very surprised that they were chosen to receive such an honor,\" Wells said . \".
The medals were approved by the internal economic, budgetary and administrative committee of the Senate on April.
Thirteen senators supported the bill and three voted against it.
Of the 13 people who agreed, 9 chose to accept medals.
On April, one of the senators who voted against the medal, Conservative Elizabeth Marshall, expressed concern that the award might raise public relations issues.
\"When we get so much criticism, I want to avoid it at this stage,\" she said.
Wanda Elaine Thomas Bernard Pierre
Patricia E. Bovey Larry W.
Campbell Claude carligan Anne
Jane Cody Jean
Dennis Dawson Joseph.
Michael Duffy Nicole Eaton art.
Rosa Galveston Diane F.
Griffin Nancy J.
Harassing Leo hosakosB.
Fabian Manning Elaine McCoy Mario mcferrand Mary-
Meggie Terry M, France
Mercer Percy Mokler Lucy Monsey Jim Monson Tanhai non-governmental organization Kelvin Kenneth Ogilvy
Custom message
Chat Online 编辑模式下无法使用
Chat Online inputting...